By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.

The Landbanking Group is the culmination of a lifetime of work by its founders, Sonja and Martin Stuchtey.

Sonja is the established technology investor and social entrepreneur behind the educational initiative “ScienceLab”, and the pro-democracy platforms Alliance4Europe and Disarm. Martin is a former Senior and Managing Partner of McKinsey & Co. where he led the global sustainability activities, the founder of the systems change company SYSTEMIQ, and professor for industrial systems in transition at Innsbruck University.

Parents to six children, Sonja's and Martin's personal journey has given them the reason and the expertise - in resource economics, societal change and technology. But it was their role as owners of an organic family farm in Austria that gave them the inspiration behind The Landbanking Group. As they watched the area surrounding their farm slowly degrading by unsustainable land-use practices, the couple came to a profound conclusion—the only way to protect nature is to give it identity and a value.

Our Team

The people breaking the status quo

Martin and Sonja started the work. But The Landbanking Group is the result of many. It convenes a fast-moving and passionate team of leading scientists, technologists and economists, developing Nature Equity solutions that can change the way we make land use decisions - every day, everywhere, all over the planet.


Prof. Dr. Martin Stuchtey
Dr. Sonja Stuchtey


Anna Sardini
Victor Mancilla
Dmitry Ilin
Margret Paul
Onyinye Chukwuka


Gordon Lawrence
Binita Khanal
Hossein Zare
Andyara Callegare
Jascha Muller
Mainak Manna
Maryn van der Laarse
Simon Marggraf
Benjamin Leutner


Rutha Prasad
Ashwin Manambrakat
Gareth Priede
Priyanka Kanade
Maarten Nieber
Bart Cortooms
Tanvi Bhardwaj
Devendra Dora
Mário Lameiras


Benedict Witte
Felipe Villela
Maria Koppatz
Jamie Batho
Alec de Beaufort
Tobias Bandel
Peenaz Aspi Irani
Sophie van Berchem
Henrike Rädler


Laetitia Stuchtey
Naoko Brückner
Nicola Maglio

Institutional Excellence and Growth

Layla Kader
Ruth Hütte
Cadi Fester
Fidelis Stuchtey
Leigh Attwood-Smith


Frauke Fischer
Frank Thiele
Felipe Fernandez
Justin Mundy
Musonda Kapena
Katharina Schüller
Michael Obersteiner
Christopher Schütz
Stefan Brunzel
Alexa Firmenich
Holger Wohlenberg
Michael Braungart
David Tepper
join us

We never settle for status quo.
Join us.

drone shot nature sand bank